Discover Sicily | Page 5 | IsulaSicilia

Discover Sicily

Beaches in Palermo

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

To the west of the Tyrrhenian coast, are the coasts of the province of Palermo, beaches alternate with stretches of breathtaking cliffs.

The small fraction dell'Addaura , located along the northern slope of Mount Pellegrino, over Punta Priola, is known for its natural caves, including the Cave dell'Addaura inside which are suggestive of...

Beaches in Messina area

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

To the east of the Tyrrhenian coast, begins the long coastline of the province of Messina. Long beaches and vegetation consisting of citrus, start stretching from the beach of Castel di Tusa, through Torremuzza, Santo Stefano di Camastra, Sant'Agata di Militello to Capo d'Orlando. Also in this area you will find pristine beaches, among them ...

Beaches in Catania area

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

"La Playa" of Catania is the symbol beach of the city. They are at least 18 km of extention from the port to the town Agnone Bagni. Beyond Ognina, you will see the little seaside village of San Giovanni Li Cuti, which has a small beach of black sand and pebbles between lava rocks.

Exceeded Capomulini, the coastal villages of Aci Castello ...

Eolie Islands - Vulcano

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The island of Vulcano is the most southern...

Eolie Islands - Stromboli

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The island of Stromboli rises from depths ranging from 1,100 to 1,200 meters. Its summit, called Serra Vancori, is the result of an ancient volcanic crater, formed by andesitic lavas.

The four morphological units that make up the island are: the ancient volcano layer of Serra Vancori south; the summit, 500 meters north of the first; the...

Eolie Islands - Salina

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The island of Salina is the second in the archipelago for size and population. It covers an area of 27 square kilometers and is home to the highest Mount of the Aeolian Islands, Monte Fossa delle Ferns. Salina is divided into three autonomous municipalities; Leni, Malfa and Santa Marina.

Leni on the south west of the island includes the...

Eolie Islands - Panarea

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The Island of Panarea is the smallest island of the Aeolian Islands, and has an area of ​​3.4 square kilometers of territory.

The town, St. Peter, is divided into three municipalities: St. Peter’s, Ditella and Drauto. Panarea Includes the islands of Basiluzzo, Spinazzola, Lisca Bianca, Dattilo, Bottaro, Lisca Nera (of which not much...

Eolie Islands - Lipari

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016


Isole Eolie - Alicudi and Filicudi

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The island of Alicudi is the most western of the Aeolian archipelago, and has an area of ​​about 5 square kilometers. It’s dominated by Mount Wire Harp, an extinct volcano, surrounded by ferns, chestnut and lime trees. Alicudi is inhabited only on the eastern side, which is also called Alicudi. The tow is divided into small fractions: Alicudi...

Egadi Islands - Marettimo

Date created: Thu, 03 Nov, 2016

The Marettimo Island, the most mountainous of 'Egadi, has the shape of a quadrilateral whose tips are represented by: Punta Troy; They base peak; Cretazzo Punta and Punta Mugnone. Discover also Favignana and Levanzo.

The highest peak of the island is Monte Falcone, with a height of 684 meters above sea level. Other peaks are Lace Bell,...